Louisiana


According to Louisiana law, unless a criminal or tortious purpose exists, a person can record any conversations transmitted by wire, oral or electronic means to which he is a party, or when one participating party has consented. A violation of the law, whether by recording or disclosing the contents of a communication without proper consent, carries a fine of not more than $10,000 and jail time of not less than two and not more than 10 years at hard labor. La. Rev. Stat. § 15:1303.

Civil damages are expressly authorized as well. Actual damages can be recovered  and minimum damages in any case will be the greater of $100 a day for each day of violation or $1,000  along with punitive damages, litigation costs and attorney fees. La. Rev. Stat. § 15:1312.